Skip to content

My first day of blogging

August 10, 2009

IMG_0126The theme of my blog will be to focus on healthy vegetarian cooking. 

I’ve subscribed to Vegetarian Times for years and every month when it arrives I salivate over many of the recipes but end up making very few.  I’ve now set myself the task of cooking each month the FAB 5–the recipes that the VT editors think are terrific.

The FAB 5 from the July/August 2009 issue are:

1. Laotian Eggplant with Tomatoes, Onion, and Mint

2. Essence of Tomato Soup

3. Sweet Zucchini-Ricotta Pancakes with Raisins and Walnuts

4. Smoky Baby Portobello Sliders

5. Blackberry, Jicama, and Apple Salad

The Portabello Sliders sounded so enticing that I did make them last week and they were flavorful and “meaty” and even though they were slightly fussy (I had to prepare Classic BBQ Rub first, then cook onions till golden for a topping before grilling the mushrooms and warming the rolls) I would definitely make them again.  And indeed I shall have to because I didn’t take a photo of them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

